Motor Vehicle Licensing
Chewelah Insurance Sub Agent Fees
Auto Licensing Hours
License tab renewals can be done online or through the mail.
Chewelah Insurance has been appointed by the Governor's Office as an agent of the Washington State Department of Licensing. This responsibility encompases:
- State of motor vehicle and vessel licenses
- Collection of license fees
- Transfer of vehicles and vessels from one owner to another
- Title changes to add or delete a legal owner other than the registered owner
- Collection of load fees on trucks
- Other transaction involving motor vehicles and vessels
New DOT requirements effective June 30, 2009
Washington state law now requires commercial motor vehicles to have an intra-state DOT number. The number will be used to tract the owner and the vehicle's safety fitness rating. Owners of any vehicle that meets the definition of a commercial motor vehicle must register through the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Obtaining a DOT number is free.
Register by Mail
To register through the mail, download the MCS-150 form from one of the websites above or call: (360) 596-3810.
vehicles that will require a DOT number by June 30, 2009:
- Commercial motor vehicles (Farm use class include) with a GVWR (Gross vehicle Weight Rating) of 26,001 lbs or more.
- A Combination of commercial motor vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs or more inclusive or a towed unit with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs.
- A commercial motor vehicle of any size used in the transportation of hazardous material.
- Commercial motor vehicles designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver.
- A private school buss regardless of weight or size.
vehicles that will require a DOT number by June 30, 2012:
- Commercial motor vehicles with GVWR of 26,001 lbs or more.
- A Combination of commercial motor vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs or more inclusive of a towed unit.
What is a Gross vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)?
- For a single vehicle, it is the value specified by the vehicle manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight of the vehicle.
- For a combination of vehicles, it is the value specified by the vehicle manufacturer as the maximum loaded weight of the towing unit plus the GVWR of the towed unit or units.
Effective September 1, 2009, a $5.00 State Park donation is included in all passenger and light truck renewals. Customers do not have to donate, they simply deduct the $5.00 fee from their total when that vehicle qualifies.
In Washington, you have 15 days to transfer a title without a penalty.
You will need the Washington Registration # (WN1234), in order to license your vessel.